Step 1:  Determine Funding Eligibility

Step 1:  Determine Funding Eligibility

Over the next three years, 100 MDP Fellows will receive a flat fee of US$5000 each for their IFAD Research Project or Field Practicum. To receive such funding, you must meet all eligibility criteria. Priority will be given to students who are citizens of B or C IFAD Member countries. (Please see for the most up-to-date B or C IFAD Member country list.) In addition, in order to qualify for IFAD funding, students must be enrolled in the following MDP programs.*

  •        Al-Farabi Kazakh National University, Kazakhstan
  •        Birla Institute of Management Technology, India
  •        BRAC Development Institute, Bangladesh
  •        CATIE, Costa Rica
  •        KDI School of Public Policy and Management, Korea
  •        Royal University of Bhutan, Bhutan
  •        TERI University, India
  •        Tsinghua University, China
  •         Universidad de los Andes, Colombia
  •         Universidade Federal Rural do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  •         Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal
  •         Universite Sains Malaysia, Malaysia
  •         University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
  •         University of Botswana, Botswana
  •         University of Ibadan, Nigeria

*The list of MDP programs that are eligible for IFAD funding will be updated as new academic institutions join the Global Association of MDP programs (

Further eligibility criteria include:

  • Financial need to complete their Field Practicum
  •  Alignment of the Fellow’s studies or professional background with IFAD’s  request
  •   Long-term commitment to rural development
  •  Above average academic records

In addition, over the next three years a minimum of 20 Fellows who are enrolled in Global North MDP academic institutions—this includes Global North and Global South students–will be able to participate in this project if they are able to obtain funding from other sources—their own departments, other grants, or own funds. The Global North MDP academic institutions include those listed below.

  •          Columbia University (USA)
  •          Emory University (USA)
  •          James Cook University (Australia)
  •          Lund University (Sweden)
  •          Monash University (Australia)
  •          PSIA, Institute of Political Sciences (Sciences Po) (France)
  •          Regis University (USA)
  •          Swiss Federal Institute of Technology or (ETH), Switzerland
  •          Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin (Ireland)
  •          University of Arizona (USA)
  •          University of California, Berkeley (USA)
  •          University of Florida (USA)
  •          University of Minnesota (USA)
  •          University of Waterloo (Canada)
  •          University of Winnipeg (Canada)